Uit Die Blou…

Apparently this is the entire English version of our National Anthem:

“God bless Africa,
Lift her horn on high,
Hear our prayers.
God bless us
Who are Your people.

God save our nation,
End wars and strife.
South Africa.

Ringing out from our blue heavens,
from our deep seas breaking round;
Over everlasting mountains
Where the echoing crags resound

Sounds the call to come together,
And united we shall stand,
Let us live and strive for freedom,
In South Africa our land.”

Now do me a favour, read the first two verses and then read the second two. Which is more poignant to you? Which moves you more? Which means more?

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m patriot, I know my country r0x, and I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else, I am also very pro my country (which is not necessarily the same as being a patriot) and see many positives in this beautiful land of ours. There are just some things that I do not agree with, nor view in anything remotely aproaching a flaterring light.

The first two verses being such items.

I will endeavour to learn them anyway… in the actual isiXhosa and Sesotho.

Here is the actual anthem:

“Nkosi sikelel’ iAfrika
Maluphakanyisw’ uphondo lwayo,
Yizwa imithandazo yethu,
Nkosi sikelela, thina lusapho lwayo.

Morena boloka setjhaba sa heso,
O fedise dintwa la matshwenyeho,
O se boloke, O se boloke setjhaba sa heso,
Setjhaba sa South Afrika – South Afrika.

Uit die blou van onse hemel,
Uit die diepte van ons see,
Oor ons ewige gebergtes,
Waar die kranse antwoord gee,

Sounds the call to come together,
And united we shall stand,
Let us live and strive for freedom,
In South Africa our land.”

I wonder what we have to do as a country to get our patriotism up to a level equal to most American peoples?

2 comments

  1. Jagdpanzer · May 13, 2006

    Two things: abolish “affirmative action” and stop glorifying South Africans “building a better life abroad”.

    Affirmative action is based on fear and ultimately hatred. It is a method for racism, tribalism and keeping that cushy job.

    Everyone who left South Africa have left the country. We stayed and we’re building a new country. We sure as hell don’t need those cowards coming back as “heroes” now that everything is OK again.

  2. jebb_x · May 15, 2006

    Affirmitive action is a terrible thing. I think it’s dispicable that a person is chosen over another candidate purely on their race.

    What get’s me is that this kind of racism is outlawed by our Constitution, yet it is then legalised by our wonderful law system.

    When it comes to economics, there’s a lot wrong with this country: trade union’s, strikes, para-statal’s, affirmitive action, COSATU having the ear of political parties and so on.

    Government should be divorced from Trade Unions and Companies, as well as being divorced from Religion. I’ll write out my thoughts later on this and post a topic on it.

    As for people who have left the country and are now returning as “Heroe’s”… I’m not entirely sure of who you are speaking of, but I have no problem with people who left the country and then return later.

    Money talks. I’d have gone overseas to make money and then return later. The simple truth is that despite my skills I do not earn enough to buy a house or drive a decent car.

    Many people had a genuine fear of the new government and left for that fear. Now they return.

    As for the labeled “White-Frighters” (see zaBlogger’s constant ravings on these guys), they can stay gone as far as I am concerned. They aren’t interested in making our country a better place.

    I think it is perhaps unfair of you to label everyone that left the country and are now returning, or in truth, everyone who left as “cowards”.

    I feel that many more people of this country need to get out of it, see what the rest of the world is like, how it functions, so that they can gain the knowledge and insight that the world is not a closed little box. There’s too much in-the-box thinking in this country, not enough push to improve the country.–>

Leave a Reply

