VMWare Server v2.0000000hhhh crap…

I installed VMWare Server 2.0. Thus far, my recommendation? Don’t. It’s shit. It sucks. I hope it can figure out someway to redeem itself.

First, it configured itself based on… I’m not sure actually. I installed it, pointed it to a folder that I wanted it to use. And it installed, happy as can be. I opened the link, expecting an application (how foolish of me), instead I get a web page popping up. Which cannot find the server it wants to connect to. We run an ISA server, and it doesn’t allow secure connections through unexpected ports, so, no dice. Change the url to local machine and I get a certificate error, which is expected and connect.

It asks for a username and password. I haven’t assigned one. So here’s the first problem. It appears, however, to have located my ESXi server on the network and gotten the logon details from that. I don’t know why, how or when, but the username and password for that appeared to work. It was either that or it used the username for the local administrator account on the Vista notebook I’m running it on. Either way, severly unimpressed, because it’s not what was expected and most certainly not what was desired. Anyway, let’s hope it gets better.

The interface has deviated somewhat from what it was in version 1.06. But hey, that’s fine. It’s web based, which means it somewhat slow, actually. But it’s not so slow that it is unusable or even really frustraiting. Let’s get to creating a new virtual machine.

The process is more clean, it’s intuitive and pretty much wizard based, that’s a good sign. Right up until I want the CD-ROM drive to use an image on my local machine. No dice. Whatsoever. It locates my local machine, it does not see any other hard drives but the drive that the cirtual machine is to be stored on, and there is no way to point anywhere else. So, seriously the hell in at this point, I have to mount an image using Daemon Tools, and then point the VM to use an actual drive on my notebook, which is in itself a virtual drive. Annoyance.

And utterly daft.

I then spend some time trying to rename the virtual machine, but can’t because it hasn’t finished creating it yet, which takes an age in and of itself. My fault for telling it to create the disk and claim the space now. So we let that one slide. Once the VM was ready, I renamed it, superb.

Right, let’s fire up the VM and isntall the OS. Press the power button, click on console and… what? A warning message stating that the VMWare Remote Access Plug-in is not installed or cannot be found, please install it. I suffer from high blood pressure, this isn’t helping.

I click on the install link, which, thankfully, downloads from the local machine, after all it’s 20MB or something stupid. It installs, happy, happy… or not. I need to restart my Internet Explorer for it to take effect… the same one with several tabs open because I’m researching shit. Me? Annoyed? What would make you think that?

So, that’s my first forty minutes with VMWare Server 2.0. Utterly unimpressed and severly fucked off. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to close all my tabs and restart Internet Explorer so that I can access my fucking console view of the VM that I haven’t even installed an OS to yet.

4 comments

  1. Stuart · December 30, 2009

    Totally agree – VMWare server 2.0.2 still shit!

  2. fonehacker · March 23, 2010

    Vmware is real shit!!!!!!
    it’s of no use.
    just a piece if bullshit on a browser.

  3. Johan · June 10, 2010

    Tried setting it up today. Ditto. Shit.

    Does it work?

    I cannot stay in a web session long enough to click twice.

  4. Sreejith · March 3, 2011

    Hey,

    You need to provide the windows’ (admin) credentials to log in to the host…

    I too had suffered a lot with it.. but if u had goe through the notes, it wouldnt been a pain.. Its clearly written.. by the by any idea abt granting access to the guests to access the internet?? i mean internet sharing with the host?? my vms are on NAT but still not able to get the internet conenction.. let me know if you got any solution..

Leave a Reply

