ASP.NET using C#

A little earlier this year I decided to move from using ASP v3.0 (VBScript) to C# on the .NET Framework v3.5. There were, of course, some issues: I had never programmed in C# before, and I had never setup an ASP.NET website. But hey, that’s half the fun of programming! Right? Right? er… right?

I cannot even begin to tell you how difficult it has been for me to locate a simple, straight forward tutorial on how to setup and configure an ASP web site. Let alone how to start writing one in C#. I know that C# is a little more difficult than VB, and, being a descendant of C++, can be horribly difficult at times.

But come one, how hard is it to create a simple tutorial?

Regardless, today marks day one of having written my first ASP.NET 3.5 C# web page. It doesn’t do much, in fact, it presents a single button, which when clicked, shows the build date of the page. It also presents a list which when the list items are clicked displays what you clicked.

This is very much a copy and paste of the tutorial on the MSDN website. So I suppose it isn’t really my first page. Although, I did stuff around a little thereafter and created a page that draws data from a SQL database and displays it all kind of pretty. This was all done via point and click though, so I don’t think it really counts either.

I’m setting myself a goal though: I want to re-compile the fnet into C#, using the ASP.NET 3.5 technologies at my disposal. There areĀ numerous issues, firstly, I have no stuffing clue what the Windows Presentation Foundation is, although I understand it is a pretty amazing tool for displaying interactive content. Further, I really need a stand alone web server so that I don’t kill something important, like the production server.

Guess I’m all excited about programming again. I may have cut my proverbial teeth on Visual Basic 5.0, but it’s time to step up to the big C. Here goes nothing.

Leave a Reply

