Biofood.

I’m one of those people who appreciates the concept and the need for genetically modified foods. Personally, I think it makes perfect sense to create food that is more robust and immune to certain types of disease and insectoid maladies. One, however, always hears from vocal groups about how bad genetically modified food is for oneself. The banner of Organic is currently flying high and strong in a stiff breeze of social responsibility at the moment, especially here in South Africa, where all the laanies (upper income earners) are beginning to follow the Organic lifestyle.

What codswallop.

Which is why I was pleased to read this article over at Ars Technica. And this one too. When I read that scientist had created artificial life, my first thought was “Give my my mycoprotien(1) steak!”

I’ve never truly understood the great vehemence against genetically modified foods. Why not eat foods that are gene-spliced? After all, the birds prefer them!

(1) Mycoprotien, in this reference, is to a roleplaying game called Shadowrun, set in the second half of the 21st century, where real, organic, food is scarce and most food stuffs are mass produced in vats and use a protien called Mycoprotien as their base.
One comment

  1. Thomas Hedderwick · May 26, 2010

    I couldn’t agree with you more!

    The very fact that they have created synthetic life form is purely orgasmic to my scienftic brain :3 now they need to drop the laws on eating synthetic meat – in most countries it is illegal I believe.

Leave a Reply

