Reflection, Guy Food, and Passing Thoughts

Those of you who know me know that I got divorced recently and that as of last week Sunday, the 26th of June, 2010, I am living by myself in a large 3 bedroom house with just about nothing. Here’s what some of you may not know. This is the first time, in my entire life, that I am truly by myself. I choose not to use the word alone, because I am not lonely, but I am by myself. It’s an interesting thing for me, I have never lived by myself. Ever. There may have been a month here or a month there, but there were always friends and relationships that stymied the alone-ness. This time around it’s me. And just me. For the first time in my life.

A lot of people had great concern about me moving into a place by myself with no-one to look after me. My mother and my sister rank amongst the top 5 I’m sure. Then there were the friends who figured that I would be living from hand to mouth and striving to remember to get take-outs. Living in a sty and generally being unable to do anything. It’s only been a week, but thus far, I think I am proving them quite horrendously wrong. As I explained to a friend of mine, Steve, I can actually cook, and cook quite well. I also know my way around a washing machine, and I do actually do the dishes. The thing that a lot of people do not seem to realize about me is that I am a manipulative sod who, if I can get someone else to do something for me, will get them to do so.

Now that I am going solo, it means that I am doing my own washing, cooking my own meals, cleaning up after myself, and, yes mother, I am making my own bed! 😉

I won’t say that there haven’t been a lot of challenges so far, the first week has been hell emotionally. The reason for this, I think, is that I met someone who had a surprisingly massive impact on my life. I spent four days trying to analyse my feelings for her and why she had such an impact. There were a metric fuck-tonne of reasons why I shouldn’t worry about it, but I did, and it brought me seriously low. I have this indistinct feeling that I will forever have a soft spot in my heart for her, and some of the decisions I have made are based on objectives that I have set myself that include her. She is going to be an amazing person, of that there is no question.

I’ve been reviewing my life in great detail, observing the things that I am not happy with and figuring out how I am going to fix them. There’s a lot of decisions that I have had to make, and I don’t like a great deal many of them. I’ve decided to be alone until I leave for NZ. Which is, in my mind, an unnatural state of being for me. So far, however, I’m dealing, and come now, I feel amped for the week ahead. There’s going to be a lot of challenge in the next five months, I know this, I’m not fooling myself, but I am confident that I am going to succeed.

Which brings me to Guy Food. Most of the people I know where concerned that I wasn’t going to be able to eat. In reflection, I may be eating too well. Not in the sense that I am picking up weight, but that I am having some Glucose Control issues, namely that they’re going a bit low. This, however, is simple enough to correct, and as I go along I will continue to improve my meal planning.

Tonight begins a new category for me on this Blog: Guy Food. I’m going to posting my meals that I come up with. I like spicy food, but also food that’s bursting with flavour and goodness. Tonight I had a two course meal, and will probably have a hankering for dessert later. The menu tonight was soup and mince.

Woolworths Chunky Vegetable Soup with Toasted Bread and Black Pepper

This was the starter, and as such it’s pretty basic. I do not own a microwave (yet), so I couldn’t just pop it into the microwave and have it ready. Had to use the stove, so thanks Eloise for the pot you’ve given me. Heat up the soup, once hot, serve immedietly. Season with fresh cracked black pepper and serve with extra toasted low GI bread that’s been drizzled with olive oil. Use the bread for dunking and sopping up any left over soup that you spoon can’t get to.

Chunky Vegetable Soup and Toast

Chunky Vegetable Soup and Toast

The soup is really good. Mind you, most Woolworths soups are good! The black pepper just adds that much more to it, and using the crunchy toast rounds out the starter. The soup comes in a portion size to serve 2, so place the leftovers in a tupperware, allow to cool, seal and place in the fridge. You can then have this again within 3 days by heating quickly in the microwave, or, if you don’t have one, on the stove.

This was pretty much the easy part. For the main meal I wanted something a little more interesting. Now the problem that I have is that I am diabetic, which means I can’t just have protien, I have to have some carbohydrates with my meals, and ideally they need to be as complex as possible. Complex carbs and protiens help manage glucose levels. The upside of the vegetable soup is that it is from Woolies’ Low Glycemic Response grouping of meals, which means so far, the glucose control is pretty good.

Tomato Chili and Olive Bologna with Toast

Tomato Chili and Olive Bologna with Toast

Keep in mind, however, that by toasting the bread you’re breaking down some of the fibre and thereby increasing the GI of the meal. Together, however, the soup and toast should be about fine.

Tomato, Chili and Olive Bologna with Olive Oil Drizzled Toasties

For the main meal I started with some olive oil in a hot pan, added about 2 teaspoons of paprika, about the same of cumin seeds, garlic and chopped peppadew. I put this on the stir for a minute or two before adding some extra lean mince (about 400g). Then set about chopping the crap out of it while it cooked. Once it was starting to look promising, I pitted some olives and added that, the added the Ina Parmans Tomato, Chilli and Olive pasta sauce. Stirred it all up and left to cook. Once that was up and ready I crumbled in some feta cheese, and then stripped in some fresh basil as I took it off the heat.

Again, I served this with olive oil drizzled toast, using it like a spoon to scoop up the mince and nom it. No added salt, no added pepper. Believe me when I say that it was awesome, it was awesome enough that I had to write a blog post about it and take pictures. Yes. It was that good. The best part is that for the most part it’s quite healthy too. It would be better with a homemade tomato and chilli sauce, but this is guy food, it needs to be done quick and ready to eat in a heartbeat. Which means that it took about 20 minutes to make, and there’s very few dishes to do as well (I re-used the soup bowl for the mince).

So there it is. It was truly epic in its nomminess, and I have a large batch of left overs as well. Looking forward to lunch tomorrow!

One comment

  1. dontknowwhoyouare · July 4, 2010

    you’re so funny

Leave a Reply

