Ham It up!

Dungeons & Dragons Logo

Image via Wikipedia

This last Sunday we finally (finally!) got going with the campaign that I have been planning for an inordinate amount of time. A little bit of back story on the campaign is that it is a continuation of the epic campaign that I ran for 3.5 Dungeons and Dragons, and this new story line, which builds on the world mythology and geography, is based on the 4th edition of Dungeons and Dragons. The game world has been updated in order to accomodate the feel of the 4th Edition, which means that a massive cataclysm has arrived, had a party and left. The world is now trying to recover.

So it was that for the first time in about a year or so, possibly even more, I got the opportunity to really run a game. And it brought with it some interesting aspects of running a game that I had not used for a while. Mainly it was hamming it up. Actually taking on the persona of the NPC‘s and going with it. Going strong too. Using gestures, dramatic pauses, intense glares and emphasis on words, proper inflection. It was a but load of fun. I think, however, the most fun came when I had to take two of the players, seperately, into one of the spare rooms and feed them information that they wouldn’t like, and that the other players wouldn’t know.

Here I discovered a something that I am usually reluctant to use but was amazingly effective: touch and the invasion of personal space. One of the players is playing a shifter, and as I stroked his arm and his face, invading his space, he shivered and squirmed and was decidedly uncomfortable, but kept it all in character. Obviously this will not work for everyone, but it was intense, and I do not think that the player will forget about it for a while. Success, I believe. The other player I did not touch, nor invade the personal space of, but it became more of impromptu theatre, we held wine glasses, and looked out the window, speaking urbanely about committing acts of treason and theft, and were well pleased with the deal and the plan (at least I was, the player knew he was getting shafted, and couldn’t do anything about it).

All in all, it was an amazing session on the roleplaying front, and the combats that occured thereafter seemed to be anti-climatic, although they were brutal and somewhat lethal. Two players almost died. Considering the amount of back story that I had written for those characters, I really didn’t want to kill them, but I also realized that the atmosphere and the realism of it required that they realize that everyone is expendable in someway. I look forward to our next session, it’s going to be good, really good!

Leave a Reply

