Cock Part the Deux

Fcuk!

Exactly. It seems that my promise of posting regularly has gone the way of dodo’s and other dinosaurs. It’s been more than a friggin year since I last posted anything. And by Josephat things have changed! While remaining mostly the same.

My health is up to crap, specifically my diabetes. Struggling to get control. So many nice things go wafting past my nose. Too many times I’m dipping into them instead of letting them go past, furthermore, exercise is something that happens to other people. My scale broke so I can’t even tell how much I weight. My belt is slotting one notch deeper, which would usually be a good thing, but is probably a side effect of my body being unable to process the junk I’m feeding it (see diabetes above).

Work is at “dear mother of sods” levels, and it looks like August will be spent bouncing around the country (again). However, I am taking steps in the right direction with project lists and the ilk which means that I am getting more done, and fewer things are seeping through the cracks, which is a damned fine thing.

Speaking of business, it’s grown, like stupidly in the last year. Five new customers, another increase of 50% in staff complement (we’re now 7 full timers), surpassing targets for net profits, return on investment, and cash flow is looking good. So hurrah there!

Family; eish. I heard via the grapevine that my brother is moving to Australia (Good on ya mate), my eldest nephew is now an iOS developer (thanks LinkedIn for the heads up), my sister and her husband have moved from Hamilton to Dunedin (which is as cold, to quote an acquaintance of mine, as a polar bears nipple), and my mother is still putting her children to shame by taking part in various walks (Discovery and other kinds) and winning awards. We worked out that she’s practically running 10 kays in these “walks”. Might not sound impressive, but you need to remember that she’s 76 years old.

And I can’t run that distance, do I have fucktard written on my forehead? What do you mean I do? Fcuk!

Improvement in my roleplaying group, it’s happening every fortnight on a regular basis, story is going well and developing nicely which is great. Get a fair amount of roleplaying in as well which is great.

I’ve also been spending some time each day trying to write. I started with the idea that I must write on the story that I’m meandering about on, but I’ve decided that any writing is good writing, it’s better than not writing anything. My target is a modest 500 words per day at the moment, and I seem to be achieving that, but I’d like to get up to 1,000 words a day by the end of August.

Home life has improved and challenging all at the same time. My relationship is going from strength to strength, and we’ve got two incomes again which is greatly awesomeness! However I am still having trouble determining when to voice my thoughts on the raising of her son and when not to. Sometimes I get it right, sometimes I really am an old fuddy-duddy. Which is kind of mind-blowing. The worst part is when I hear my fathers or mothers voice coming through my words and actions.

That bit of introspection is something that others always tell you about but which never really seems to sink in. But when you’re shouting at the eight year old while throwing something away and then start laughing because you can recall the EXACT SAME THING happening when you were 8 and your voice is now just a reflection of your parents. Eish.

I spoke to my sister for a couple of hours the other day (she lives in New Zealand, me in South Africa, let’s hear it for 10 hour time difference) and the first thing she said to me was how much I look like my dad. It’s true too, I do, a lot. As I get older I look more and more like him too. Which is a bit on the weird side.

Anyway, enough blather. I wrote a post. It’s been more than a year than the last one. I haven’t really had anything to say, so I guess this is a start. As to whether I write another one, hopefully sooner than a year, probably if I get time in between Skyrim 😉

 

Peace. Jebb out.

One comment

  1. fudgingood · July 24, 2013

    Glad to see you writing again. Hope to read some more.

Leave a Reply

